Getting Cultured

My Tribe

Exhausted and ready to hit the sack, the Stray bus pulled into Uncle Boys to for our overnight cultural stop.  We were running late because we got lost (starting to look like a trend with me in New Zealand at this point).  Even though I was looking forward to this and the hangi meal ever since I booked the trip – I was running on next to no sleep and couldn’t think of a worst day to be having a full night.

So I took my piss poor attitude and proceed with the evening while ever so slightly moaning and groaning until my little heart was content.  Since we were running late – the evening started with the hangi meal before proceeding with the cultural show which we all had to take a part in.  Slowly as I digested all the delicious food (especially the lamb) and my usual sunshine self poked itself through the clouds and began to beam once again.

the boys doing the Haka for usBy the end of the night – I was squealing with glee once again.  The highlight had to be the boys doing the Haka for us – it was much harder than the dance the girls had to learn and despite the non-stop laughter what they did was impressive.  Before I even knew it – the cultural show was over and it was time for bed.  As my eyes shut heavy with sleep, the lesson I learned was that always keep an open mind as interesting experiences might come my way.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Getting Cultured

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

Vacation is a State of Mind

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo