Florence In The Eye Of The Beholder

I spent less than 48 hours in Florence as it was a last-minute add-on.  As the days leading up to the trip were rather hectic, any sort of planning that could have been done – wasn’t.  Instead I decided that no real sense of direction was going to be the best plan for me so I stepped off the train in Florence and decided I was going to roam the streets armed with a map and a camera.  As usual, the map did very little to help me but the camera on the other hand was what made my aimless roaming worthwhile.

I fell hard for doors in Florence - this was the first and probably my favourite of the photos

I fell hard for doors in Florence – this was the first and probably my favourite of the photos

Don’t get me wrong, once the lady running the B&B found out about my plan, she took my map and circled all the must-dos in Florence to ensure that I did and saw as much as I could in my short time.  As it was closest to where I was staying, I was instructed to start with the Piazza del Duomo and then make my way around to the other important building and museums around town.  Being the good girl that I am, I did as I was told.  Sure the Piazzas with their beautiful buildings and the museums containing amazing works of art were all checked off my list along with the Ponte Vecchio bridge and a quick tour around Boboli but these weren’t the things that left a lasting impression on me.  Looking back on my photos, the ones that make me smile now aren’t the ones that resemble the postcards or look like the pictures that every other tourist snapped but are the quirky ones taken at the random as I found myself lost in yet another city.

A bin with personality!

A bin with personality!

I use the term lost quite lightly as Florence isn’t really big enough to get lost in.  Essentially, when I tired of pulling out my map just to learn that I had gone a few blocks in the wrong direction, I decided the best thing to do was to just kept walking around until it was time for another gelato break.  The one catch with the gelato is that there are places that can be a little pricier than a scoop of gelato ever should be.  The reason why I bring this up is because I saw a cafe showing off its gelato goods without prices in a window display and before I knew it, I was clutching onto a 2 scoops in a waffle cone in one hand while I was raffling through my wallet to come up with the 9 euros that damn cone just cost me with the other!  Just encase you’re curious, I was close to the Ponte Vecchio and later found out that I wasn’t the only one I knew that fell victim to this window display either.

The White Tree - Favourite Tree in Giardino di Boboli

The White Tree – my favourite thing in Giardino di Boboli

All in all, my trip to Florence was short but sweet.  I did a lot more than I thought I would have the moment I walked off that train and I had gotten just enough of a taste to know that this is a region worth returning to when it warms up a little outside.

Wrong turn and I wound up here...

Wrong turn and I wound up here…

 

Categories: ITALY, italy: florence | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

