100% Eye Candy

Words can’t describe the brilliance I’ve witnessed.  Sure, before leaving for the Venice Carnival, I knew I was in for people watching at it’s finest but what I saw simply blew me away.  After 2 flights and a shuttle bus, I found myself smack dab in the middle of all the carnival action.  On arrival the weather was mild and the professionals and festival merry goers all paraded around in their best get-ups of the day.  There were face painting stations set up all over the windy streets and vendors selling everything from the simple 2 euro masks to the elaborate outfit that made you look like one of the professionals.  On top of that, the homemade costumes and creativity that went into them were simply amazing.  The variation was extreme from 6’4″ men pretending they were Batman (trust me, I use the term pretending lightly) to costumes so complex that it looked as though they had taken all year to make.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Right off the bat, I got an eyeful and without a shadow of a doubt, knew that my decision to attend the Venice Carnival was hands down one of the smartest things that I’ve done all year.  The outfits were so magnificent that it was hard not to get swept up in all the excitement and start dressing the part myself.  Yes, I started collecting masks and capes like nobody’s business and wound up in a handful of tourist photos myself (posing ever so badly I might add) but at the end of the day, it was my inner paparazzi that kicked some serious ass!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

 

Sorting through what I liked the most has turned out to be a difficult task at this hour and so I’ve just chosen my favourite images that I haven’t plastered all over instagram whenever I could get a little wi-fi in my life.  Despite my love of photography, I was armed with nothing but the simplest of all of the point and shoot cameras (one that I lovingly refer to as the terminator due to the “damage” it endured in Berlin) and an iPhone.  Granted, I was rather jealous of all the digital SLRs surrounding me and wishing I had the ability to pull focus like a mofo as well but reminded myself that I’m not on assignment and to sit back and enjoy all that was around me.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

With all the activities going on, that was simple enough to do.  After a crazy photo shoot, we would duck into some food spot (truth be told, most likely anywhere that was serving gelato) to chill out and regroup before heading back out into the crowd once again.  My plan for Venice Carnival was to just get a taste of what it was like and that’s exactly what I did.  We participated in a handful of events, dressed up like complete nutters ourselves as well as showed full appreciated to those who did it well.  All in all, I would have to say that this is one of those events that everyone should attend once in their lifetime.

???????????????????????????????

IMG_6331

 

Categories: ITALY, italy: venice | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “100% Eye Candy

  1. That’s some really beautiful photography! Must’ve been a fascinating experience 😀

    • Hi Himani!

      Yes, it was an amazing experience and the photos don’t come close to capturing how beautiful some of the costumes were. I definitely understand why people say that this is one of those things you have to do in your lifetime!

      Thanks,
      Sharen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

