Just Another Pretty Face…

IMG_5735

Maybe this is something that comes with age and weariness of travel but I’ve gotten to the point where I’m over going to places that are stunning but offer nothing to stimulate me beyond that.  Maybe it’s just me but I feel that if I’m going to put in time and effort of a visit than I would like to find some substance underneath all that is visually simulating.  Granted a few hours in Tübingen is equivalent of a drive by in my books but this university town left me bored.  It had a very distinctly European look that I’m getting to know well with its canal, castle, and old historic buildings that made for pretty pictures but unfortunately nothing else.  I liked the allure of this being a city that was largely unscathed by the Second World War but for some reason after walking around, it left me wanting more.  Maybe if I had visited when school was in session or if my visit had been longer than my opinion would have been different but I walked away from here thinking once is good enough for me in this lifetime.

IMG_5721

Categories: GERMANY, germany: baden-baden | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Just Another Pretty Face…

  1. Oh no, ABC syndrome! another bloody castle, another bloody cathedral, another bloody canal…

    • Haha! ABC Syndrome – love it Paul and guilty as charged. Hope you’re still living it up in NZ…I really do miss it and might be the case of my ABC Syndrome in a small part.

  2. You sound as if you’re travel weary, like me – http://julitownsend.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/travel-weary/

    • Yes, I think I’m travel weary and it gets harder and harder as each day passes but then I’ll have a moment that reminds me why I love it so!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

