Nope, Not Recession Proof Yet!

There it was sitting all pretty in my lobby – my first ever Irish payslip!  The excitement was quickly replaced with sadness when I teared it opened and realized that all of a sudden I was making peanuts for a living.  Not to pull a Naomi Campbell but damn it, is this what I’ve been getting out of bed for?  WTF –  NOT RIGHT!

As panic began to set in, I noticed that the envelope also contained candy hearts – I’m certain they were put there to cushion the blow with a sugar high.  I started slowly munching on them but it did nothing to reduce the panic that had reached boiling point.  After carefully examining my payslip, I knew the I had no choice but to march down to the revenue office to get my taxes reduced stat!  In Ireland, you have to take a 12A form to the revenue office as soon as you start working to stop paying an exorbitant amount of tax. This move wouldn’t change the fact that I making peanuts but atleast it would be a slightly bigger peanut this way.

The bigger problem that’s looming over me is that I’m still getting nowhere with the whole working a career job abroad thing.  I keep being told that I have a strong CV with amazing experience but sit through interview after interview doing my song and dance about how I’m okay with taking a step backwards, being bored, and taking a lower salary just to have constant work that pays more than peanuts!  It feels as though this recession has me beating my head against the wall.  I realize that I’m fortunate to have temp gigs coming in as others are on the verge of going home due to lack of funds but this situation is still far from ideal.  After taking a few deep breaths I came to the conclusion that I’ll still find a way to triumph over this recession hurdle but I think I might need to start getting a little bit more creative on how I go about it.  Is “will date for food” a little too brash this early in the game?

Categories: IRELAND, ireland: dublin | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Nope, Not Recession Proof Yet!

  1. If you do “date for food”, I would think you’d have a lot of interesting blog posts! Haha.

    • Haha! So not only will I get some decent food instead of joining the 1 meal a day club but I’ll get some funny blog posts. Thinking this “will date for food” idea might be a keeper!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

