Familiar Faces In A Foreign Place

This weekend kicked off the beginning of house guest season (or shall I say year) for me.  The title of first guests in Dublin was proudly claimed by my brother and sister-in-law who had me hone my hosting skills exactly 7 days after moving into my humble abode.  Granted as I’ve only lived in this city for 13 days, I didn’t really have much of a leg up of where to go or what to do but there was one thing that simplified everything…GUINNESS!

The only item of importance on the touring agenda for these Guinness loving individuals was seeing the Guinness Storehouse.  There was no-nonsense about where the locals hang out or the best hidden ma and pa joints in Dublin as all they wanted to go see was one of the biggest tourist attractions in the region and I was happy to oblige.  You see, this would be my first stroll through the Storehouse as well and even though I had heard rumors about what to expect, I was hosting and the last thing I wanted to do was to have to thrill my guests with Temple Bar antics if the Guinness Storehouse turned out to be an epic fail.

Thankfully, the Guinness Storehouse did not disappoint.  We spent hours walking up one staircase after another as we went from sampling to learning how to pour the perfect pint to sampling some more until we reached the Gravity Bar – where we could just relax with a pint while enjoying the beautiful view.  I was in awe of how easily all that Guinness went down – especially for me, a non beer lover.  I don’t know if its just something in the water but damn, that Guinness was good.  At the end of the day, I can proudly say that we were the loud and obnoxious party at the Storehouse  and had the time of our lives.  As for me, this is just the first tour of many I’ll do and can honestly say that maybe a repeat visit of two isn’t such a bad thing after all.

Categories: IRELAND, ireland: dublin | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

