An Act Of Desperation?

Today, I woke up to the worst rain I’ve seen since hitting the Emerald Isle but sadly, had no choice but to live the day.  It may have been the morning meeting with the recruiter that forced me out of bed but it was the fact that I was finally allowed to open up a bank account that had me singing in the rain.

The morning was all about focusing on what I needed to do to rejoin the working world but this afternoon, all those worries faded away as I caught a glimpse of a plain white envelope with my name on it.  There is was – my PPS number.  Otherwise known as correspondence from a government department/body as proof of current permanent residential address.  Just to be fair, not all banks would accept this letter as proof but luckily AIB would and so they quickly became my bank of choice.

Yes, AIB has a lot of charges (turns out there’s a whole booklet full of them), lacks a Visa Debit card, and isn’t open on Saturdays but is the only bank that would let me open up an account in Ireland so I either had to suck it up or figure out how to keep dealing with the simple things in life without being able to easily access or transfer money.  Granted it’ll be another week before I get my lasercard and I can’t deposit any money into the account until tomorrow and yes, I will be charged to make that deposit but I finally have a bank to call my very own.  Its good news…right?

See, the big worry now is if I’ve gotten myself into a bad one-sided relationship out of sheer desperation.  Do I stick with this bank and look to upgrade once I have further proof that I’m now residing in Dublin?  Do I stay loyal to them because they were the first to accept me or out of sheer laziness?  I guess only time will tell…

Categories: IRELAND, ireland: dublin | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “An Act Of Desperation?

  1. Had the same situation with Lloyds when I arrived in the UK. Stick it out for 3-4 months, get established and then switch. The banks will then fall over themselves to have you. Missing you in the office hun

    • Good to know it’s not just me Mel! Thanks for the advice and makes sense to treat this like a “starter” relationship until I can get closer to the real thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

