Packing For My Flashpacker Ways

Yes, it’s that time again and the sheer packing panic has started to set in. After a pit-stop in Toronto, I will be off to live in Ireland for the next year or so and thus, the challenge before me is that I have the next few days to figure out what to bring and how the hell to make the 23 kg or less weight requirement work. After checking out weather reports for Dublin like it was a religion – I need to mix up the items I can’t live without with layer-able pieces and all things waterproof.

Sitting and staring at a suitcase doesn’t help matters much either but atleast this time I’m not trying to pack the morning of…ahh, memories of when I was leaving for NZ. Since that fateful day, however, compression bags and I have become fast friends (after all, how many other girls do you know that can jam a duvet, duvet cover, towels, and a weekend worth of clothes into a carry on?) but what’s stumping me this time around is weight. I won’t be able to use my carry on to help out with this particular problem as it’s already full of all the gadgets, electronics, and assortment of chargers and such that are essential for my everyday life.

So after packing, weighing, and unpacking my bag for the millionth time, I’m no further along in finding the magical way to make it all work. Not sure what else I can eliminate as I’ve already limited myself to interchangeable pieces in the beautiful colour palate of black, grey, white, and all different shades of pink that would work for interviews, work, work functions, working out, travel, play, and nights out (yes, those legendary nights that I’m rather fond of…). My goal is not to waste money on baggage fees so it’s life or death to get everything packed in the 23 kg limit but getting down to that weight is like eliminating the freshman 15 that creeps up out of nowhere! All I can think of is to forgo comfort and wear the heaviest of all items despite the fact that I’ll most likely end up sweating like a rapist…OH JOY! Any packing tips? Please share as any advice is more than welcomed!

Categories: CANADA, canada: vancouver | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

