Now That’s A Work Visa!

I needed to include a passport photo as part of my application for the Irish Work Permit – no sweat!  Not a surprise either since one was also required for my New Zealand Work Permit.  It wasn’t a big deal as it was just a terrible photo that was going to be buried in some folder at some immigration office after all, right? WRONG – well when the Irish are concerned anyway.

When I got my Irish work permit, it was nothing but a 9×11 laminated piece of paper with that terrible passport photo slapped right on it.  Yup, you heard right, instead of a little sticker in my passport, I was handed this giant piece of paper that would resist folding or manipulation of any kind and needs to be carried with me whenever I travel.  Now, not only do I have to find a way not to lose this unbelievably valuable piece of paper but will also have to show it to people and wait for endless ridicule of the stellar mug shot front and center.  Wish me luck!

Categories: *PRE-DEPARTURE | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Now That’s A Work Visa!

  1. Alexis

    Hi! My name’s Alexis and I found your blog through the SWAP website. I’m planning on coming to Ireland sometime in early November and have just send all of my documents to the Travel Cuts office. I was just wondering how long it took for your visa to come after everything was sent away? I know it says allow 4 weeks for non-students on the website but I wanted to see if anyone else’s had come earlier, since I’m finding some good flights before the 4 week mark. If you could let me know how long yours took I’d really appreciate it! Thanks!

    • Hi Alexis,

      Mine was cutting very close to the 4 week mark…I think a day or two off to be exact but it was around a long weekend as well. If I were you, I would allow for the 4 weeks just to be on the safe side even though a lot of people do get it before than as you just never know. Good luck!

      Sharen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

