People Watching At Its Best

NZ Fashion Week

This weekend marked the end of NZ Fashion Week in Auckland.  What I’ve learned is that despite being called stylish, I’m far from fashionable.  I will not suffer in the name of fashion – its just against my make up as a human being.  What I will do is attend events (dressed to the nines in lulus, my finest beater, and trainers of course) and have the time of my life watching those that do. 

Sadly, one of my favourite pass times is people watching.  In my humble opinion, the best place to do this was at airports all over the world but after this weekend, I think the Viaduct Events Centre during Fashion Week is clearly the new winner.  There were men in bow ties and/or unitards, faux fur all over the place (in a very “stroke the furry wall” kind of way), cougars in big heels and teeny tiny micro dresses, models with wobbly bits, outfits that left very little to the imagination (I’m still puzzled on how showing off your critical zone is EVER a good idea), and girls that were stunning and others that were good from far but far from good.

Don’t get me wrong – I love clothes and saw things that were fabulous amongst those that were questionable but at the end of the day, this particular experience wasn’t all about the clothes for me.  Did I enjoy NZ Fashion Week?  Of course, I did.  Was it for the right reasons – probably not.

Categories: nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “People Watching At Its Best

  1. Sadaf Bhatti

    Hmmm, I had similar thoughts. It was definitely a ‘mix bag’ of sorts. But you are right, nonetheless, enjoyable. What I think I liked the best about NZ Fashion Week was that it didn’t have a ‘too cool for school’ vibe…which was nice.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

