The Dog Days Are Over?

I was recently asked if Auckland felt like home and I sat there struggling to answer.  The voice in my head was screaming, “Vancouver is my home you idiot – it always has been and always will be”…for the record, that never went over well in Toronto so I knew better this time around and I tried to find a polite way to answer the question.  Sadly, I failed miserably and mumbled something about travelling and quickly changed the topic. 

This has been stuck in my head since a year ago today is when I landed in Auckland.  I came here with a fairytale fantasy about how I was going to be this fabulous travelling gypsy.  Ever since I got here, I’ve considered myself a tourist who holds a full-time job.  But can you consider yourself a tourist after living and working somewhere for a year?  Should I be trying to build a life here instead of plotting and planning my next getaway?  What does home is where the heart is mean anyway?

All I know is that I don’t know.  I don’t know if I came here for the right reasons or what the right reasons would ever be.  What I do know is that despite all the ups and downs I’ve experienced, I still live here and enjoy it on most days (let’s not talk about cold nights and the lack of central heat).  I may not be sure if I’ll stay permanently or move on eventually but what I do know is that I don’t have plans to go anywhere anytime soon.   So even though I don’t think of this city as home, it’s the one that I’ve chosen to live in.  At the end of the day that should count for something right?

Categories: nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Dog Days Are Over?

  1. Jimena

    Why am I a bat and soup is some green creature??? PS: We’ve been drinking wine at work!!! :))))

  2. Soup

    I know exactly how you feel! Trust me, I’ve pondered the very same question as of recent. Miss you lots 🙂

  3. thestuffithinkabout

    I get that question a lot not being from Toronto. And after four years, I still feel a little torn. I think home is wherever you feel that undefinable comfort. I still get that in Montreal (since it’s where I grew up) but I am getting it more now in TO. I don’t think there is anything bad about saying you have two homes, or after a year you’re undecided. Let them be offended!:)

    As for why you went there – it really doesn’t matter what other people think. If you know and are comfortable with the reasons behind your actions, you shouldn’t care what anyone thinks! And if they’re your true friends, they’ll love and support you either way and not judge! 🙂

  4. Jimena

    Little S,
    Change of scenery was good at the time 🙂
    Hugs,
    Jimena

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

