Hard Luck?

On my desk sits a jar with the sign “Homeless Donations” which was cleverly crafted by one of my co-workers upon hearing the latest drama rocking my world.  The story is that I’m now going to have to move out of the flat I’ve just moved into because the landlord is moving back in (some sorted tale about an ex and a new partner and I’m trying very hard not to get judgy about it…especially after hearing the timelines).  Anyway, the drama isn’t so much that I’m going to have to move again but that this news comes on the eve of my month-long trip back to Canada.

So essentially I’ve been given 42 days notice to find a new place to live at a time when I’m overseas for 36 of those days.  Brilliant!  In no way is that mission impossible in this rental market!  So silly little me…I was hoping that there would be some sympathy to my situation as its less than ideal to put it nicely (not to mention the fact that I had mentioned a month-long vacation in May prior to moving in).  I pledged my case of I’m not in the country so would it be possible to either wave the 3 week notice period if I moved out immediately or extend the notice period to allow atleast a couple of weeks for me to properly flat hunt once I’m back.  Turns out that there wasn’t an ounce of compassion in this so-called human being…I might even use a term that rhymes with witch to describe her as I got told about contractual obligations when I asked for understanding.

So there you go…rock…hard place…me.  Getting ready for a trip while packing the rest of my belongings to shove into a storage unit before I head off to the airport all the while knowing that I’m paying to be a phantom lodger in the flat due to contractual obligations.  Fun times!  The one ray of sunshine in all of this is in less than 48 hours, I’ll be in another country…time zone…headspace and my only struggle will come a month from now when I’ll have to return to sort out this mess.  The question that keeps lingering in my head…will I?

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

