Worldwind in Welly

Coffee at Memphis Belle

Somewhere between the wine and king’s cup on Christmas Eve/Day it was decided that the 3 originals needed to reunite and thus, the idea of the weekender in Welly was born.  I talked…planned…plotted while brimming with excitement as the day grew closer.  What I realize now is that it wasn’t anything like what I had imagined and was silly to have thought it would be anything other than what it was. 

When planning, I was so wrapped up with reuniting with those I had spent my first couple of days in New Zealand with that I neglected the importance of food.  Thanks to some new friends who wholeheartedly encourage the foodie way of life – this turned out to be a fabulous weekend.  After all, what’s a girl supposed to do in Welly other than a worldwind tour of the cafes, bars, and restaurants.  I ate and drank until my little heart was content and then ate and drank some more.  I can go on and on about how Sunday brunch at Fidel’s should be a must for everyone or how you haven’t really been to Welly without stopping at Memphis Belle for coffee or that its okay to make friends with salad at Finc but the standout for me this particular weekend was Shed 5. 

Shed 5

Shockingly, Shed 5 is the first time since arriving in New Zealand that I’ve been out to a nice restaurant and had the opportunity to get dressed to the nines.  It didn’t even dawn on me how much I missed this favourite pastime until somewhere between the crumbed tomino salad and the candied walnuts on the risotto.  It was the first bite of the chocolate souffle however that helped me realize once again that this is my thing.  Funny how things work out as this trip was about the originals reuniting and it was in the moments without them that I rediscovered something that I loved.  If I had to do this weekend all over again – I wouldn’t change a thing. 
Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: wellington | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

