Operation: Rescue Lucy!

Last Friday night I was walking to a friend’s house party after a rather weird flat viewing experience and good eats at Joy Bong (not my imagination going wild this time…actually name of the place) and out of nowhere this little puppy is heading my way at warp speed (okay, slightly exaggerated with that one as I may have seen her and encouraged her to come my way).  Turns out that the jogger that was about 5 minutes behind the pup wasn’t the owner but just the first stranger who encountered the lost pup without any ID tags and was just trying to keep an eye on her.  Before I could even spit out a sentence about what we should do – the jogger had vanished into thin air. 

My mobile was ringing off the hook with people were wondering where the hell I was…I was faced with the dilemma of what to do – take the puppy to the house party or leave her where she is and hope for the best.  Since its me, the only thing I could do was drag her to the house party as there was no way I was leaving her behind to fend for herself!  Being the sweetest mongrel in the world – she didn’t kick up a fuss at all.  She followed along playfully and didn’t even attempt to bite me as I picked her up to cross a rather busy road – yes, I made the brilliant decision to j-walk but don’t worry both puppy and I made it across without any incident.  After some searching, we found the number to animal control and gave them a call to let them know that we had found someone’s pet and wanted to ensure that she would be returned to them.  They let us know that they would be by the house in several hours to pick her up.  These several hours gave us all enough time to get attached to her as she playfully bounced around the yard while greeting new party goers and doing the occasional lap inside the house.  Well before animal control showed up we collectively decided to call this little pup Lucy.

Sadly, this is where the story takes a nasty twist.   It took a week to find out that the pup that I thought was someone’s pet was actually abandoned as there have been ZERO inquires about her!  She’s now being put up for adoption and the heartbreaking news is that if she’s not adopted out in a timely manner, they will euthanize her.  I had to ask the lady on the phone twice if I had heard her correctly and then questioned her about their policy but got told firmly but nicely to SHUT UP. 

If you’re wondering what a girl like me would do next.  Well, pretty much anything in my power to ensure that this pup will not be euthanized because I made the mistake of calling animal control!  Sadly, turns out that I’m not fit to adopt her as I won’t pass the property inspection but being the ever crafty Canadian – I will do what needs to be done to save the pup even though the clock is working against me.  Don’t know how…don’t know when but Operation: Rescue Lucy is now in full effect and she will be freed soon enough.  STAY TUNED…

UPDATE – The lady at animal control was vague but Lucy’s owners finally came in and claimed her.  She went home.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

