…Live As If You Only Have Today

Just another beautiful day in Auckland today.  Summer is almost here and you can smell it in the air.  Since a beautiful day should never be wasted, we made plans to head to Mission Bay after work.  As there’s more to life than drinking on a patio, the English Superstar and I got off the bus several stops early and decided to walk the rest of the way to Mission Bay to take in the scenery on our way there.  We never made it. 

As we strolled along the promenade, a runner let us know that there was an accident and we should turn around.  Another runner stopped us and asked what all the commotion was about.  We said that we heard that there was an accident and she asked if it was a cyclist and zoomed ahead of us.  To my horror it was and as she let out a heartbreaking scream…we knew it was her friend.  I know this pain and every inch of me wanted to go over to this stranger and comfort her but I stood there frozen.  There was nothing that I could have said or done that would have lessen her pain. 

From personally experience, I know what its like to loss a friend.  Years ago, I lost my best friend in a car accident and a couple of weeks ago, another friend to cancer.  Its moments like this that remind me to live my life to the fullest and never settle for “comfortable”.  This incident was a reminder of what they taught me – “Dream as if you could live forever…live as if you only have today…”.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “…Live As If You Only Have Today

  1. thestuffithinkabout

    Lots of hugs to you!! I lost a friend to a drunk driver when I was a kid, so I understand.
    You know, as an adult and with the job I do, something the emotional pain of a situation such as an accident occurs to me but doesn’t sink in. I guess it’s just a coping mechanism to get through the day. Probably not the healthiest of things but I guess its the only way to survive.
    ::hugs::

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

