Better Than Chocolate!

 

Only photo I care to share as you can't see the glimmer of crazy in my eyes...

 

Who ever thought that it was a good idea to roll down a hill while trapped inside a giant hamster ball is a genius in my books!  With all the mindless shenanigans that I constantly find myself dreaming up for amusement’s sake, I’m surprised that such a brilliant idea never occur to me.  Damn!  Beaten by quirky kiwis at my own game!  The main objective of going to Rotorua for the weekend was to give zorbing a whirl.  The drive from Auckland to Rotorua is approximately 4 hours each way and it takes approximately 2 minutes to get from the top to the bottom of the hill.  Even if zorbing was the only thing we did in Rotorua – it was well worth the trip.  In a nutshell, the best 2 minutes of my life! 

As the idea of being strapped to a wall of the zorb made my stomach slightly queasy – I decided to do the water version called ZYDRO down the zig zag path.  The middle of the zorb is filled with warm water and then all you do is run and jump through the hole to enter the zorb.  For some reason I thought it would be much harder to get into the giant hamster ball and flew into the ball faster/harder than what was needed and hit the other end of the zorb from the inside like a moron.  After a quick chuckle, the zorb wrangler zipped me up and pushed me down the hill.  I flew around the inside of the zorb like a rag doll while laughing uncontrollable like someone who belonged in an insane asylum.  What can I say – it’s just that magical instead a hamster ball made for humans.  In no time at all, I was at the bottom of the hill and as I was getting set to launch myself out of the ball the zorb wrangler looked at me and said I had to go feet first.  What he forgot to mention was that they were going to tilt the ball and so I launched out of the ball with such force that I fell flat on my ass on exit.  In an attempt to mask my clumsiness, I made a joke about how the zorb just gave birth to me which was enough to make the kiwis crack a smile.  They all seemed pretty amused and ever so supportive of my special brand of stupid.  It was in this moment that I realized that the rain had stopped and the sun started shining down on me once again.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: rotorua | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Better Than Chocolate!

  1. ZORB!!!! Sounds like you had an awesome time! Just as I suspected. It’s a human hamster ball after all. 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

