Waiheke – A World Away

View of Waiheke from the ferry

The plan for Saturday was to head to Waiheke Island to spend the day eating and drinking.  You would think that my walk to the ferry terminals to meet my wine-drinking posse would have been stress free.  WRONG.  Saturday is the day that my mobile crapped out and suddenly there was a new way to shut me up…take out the lines of communication altogether.  After skipping breakfast and running around to a million Vodafone stores like a mad women, I finally accepted the fact that there was some sort of screw up when they tried to transfer me to their rolling monthly plan and hauled ass to the ferry terminals without a working mobile.

 Thankfully, the rest of the day would make up for the manic morning that I experienced.  When it comes to describing the island or my experiences on Saturday, I just keep repeating the world beautiful like an idiot.  The tour gave us a nice sampling of Waiheke as we went to 3 vineyards and 1 olive oil tasting throughout the day.  I mean, who even knew that there was such a thing as olive oil tasting but they had this herb spread that I fell in love with and will be back just to pick up a jar or two before departing New Zealand.

Stonyridge Vineyards

 After the Fullers tour, we jumped onto the local bus and made our way back to the beach.  Horst, our German tour guide, had given us a tour of the island while on route to the wineries and as soon as we saw the beach, we knew there was no other option but to head back.  It’s still too chilly to fully enjoy the beach but it was still nice to take a stroll (not as romantic as you might be picturing it at this moment as it was just me and two buddies talking total rubbish while trekking through sand fully clothed).

 All I can say is Waiheke gets two thumbs up and I can’t wait to visit the island again when summer finally hits New Zealand.  Even though it’s just a quick ferry ride away from Auckland, I was so excited

Wine by the Beach

 as I felt like I had finally left the trappings of yet another big city to find myself in a picturesque landscape that seemed worlds away from where I started off in the morning.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

