I gots flu

Being sick sucks. Being sick in New Zealand sucks balls. It all started before we left the hostel. There was a contagious bug going around that we lovingly nicknamed the BASE flu which started picking off my merry band of misfits one at a time as it made its way to infecting me. To be fair, it’s more of an aggressive cold then the flu but its next to impossible to shake it once it’s got you.

I’ve now been a snot/mucus making factory for about a week and a half and it doesn’t matter that I’ve gotten heaps and heaps of sleep – I can’t seem to shake it.  The reason why it’s worse to be sick in New Zealand is that there isn’t central heating in most houses including my flat. Yes, I picked up a heater for my room and my flat is much warmer than most but it hard to get that warm cosy feeling and because of this, it’s harder to spend the day in bed.

Here I find myself spending the same amount of time in bed as I am wrapped in my pink snuggie in front of the TV.  I’ve gotten used to only having a handful of channels to pick from and watching bad TV.  In a way lack of choice makes mindless TV watching even better and I’m back to indulging my Shortland St. fixation and I’ve probably watched more music videos on Juice over the last week than I’ve done in the last 4 years.  As I’ve spent today as a total shut-in dividing my time between my bed and in front of the TV – I can say with some certainty that I’m starting to feel a lot less like my sickie self so here’s hoping that I’ve kicked this bug once and for all!

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I gots flu

  1. thestuffithinkabout

    Hugs babe! Being sick sucks. If I could send over an extra snuggie and home-made soup I would! 🙂

    • Home-made chicken noodle would be amazing. What are you thoughts about jumping on a plane to take care of me on the other side of the world?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

