Are you there Recruiters? It’s me, Sharen.

Just another interview day...

 

My job hunting plan was to find one or two decent recruiters and then let them pimp me out to the most interesting prospects in New Zealand. Meeting with these recruiters has not been an easy task as I’ve been travelling all over the CBD and beyond.  My heels and I have trekked on beaches, hiked hills, and gotten lost on the way to Parnell.  Forms have been filled out and all assigned homework completed and returned in record time.  What do I have to show for my efforts to date – nothing. 

All of the recruiters that I’ve met with so far have been super positive and kept telling me that I have a valuable set of skills that are in shortage in New Zealand.  They all seem certain that they’ll be able to find something for me.  They all ask if I’d be open to the idea of being sponsored and staying in New Zealand longer.  They tell me which companies that they’d like to talk to about me and after that – nothing.  Am I being gullible and believing the lines that I’m being fed or is it just the restlessness kicking in once again? 

Maybe patience is a virtue that I’m lacking.  I’ve been advised that the best thing to do at this point is to follow-up with the recruiters and give it time to see how things work out.  Such a silly thing to say to me as its time that I’m worried about.  I’m worried that I’m sitting around in Auckland and going to these interviews that will lead nowhere when I can be out exploring the rest of New Zealand.  I’m worried that once I do get placed, I won’t have time to travel around the country the way I want and I will look back on this time and see that I’ve wasted away valuable time.  I guess I just have to keep reminding myself to take it one day at a time and when I get bored with that – maybe it’ll be time to take a little road trip…

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Are you there Recruiters? It’s me, Sharen.

  1. thestuffithinkabout

    Hey man, I totally have faith in you!!! GOOD LUCK!!!!
    And if you can’t get by on your merits, remember to show a little boob. That’ll work with guys and from what you tell me about NZ chicks, it might work with them too. RAWR 😉 hehe

  2. Soup

    GOOD LUCK!

  3. Soup

    Reminder – You’ve only been job hunting for 3 weeks (probably less).

    This is a new city so it will take time to get acquainted with recruiters and become recognizable within the ad industry out there. You have got to be the most impatient ‘lil missy ever! You’ll do fine, just remember that following up is key! Oh, and make sure you don’t leave any sand behind after interviews…

    • Yes, been job hunting for 3 weeks but its me Kenny and I expect the red carpet experience!!! 🙂 Got a 3 hour marathon interview tomorrow in an office where coffee and a beach isn’t involved…wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

