The German Invasion

As a solo traveller, I didn’t know who I’d be rooming with. As day one rolled around, I got myself from the airport to the hostel, checked in, and went to my room with butterflies in my stomach. I walked in and only one bed was taken but the occupant wasn’t around. I started to get settled when the door opened and a Yankee from the Virgin Islands flew in. He was a chatty fellow and we got along like two peas in a pod. We were in the middle of exchanging our life stories as the quiet car mechanic from the UK walked in. The three of us spent the next hour getting to know each other and I realized that I lucked out in the hostel roomie department.  Unfortunately, this wasn’t something that was going to last as these guys were only in Auckland for a few short days. As their check out date loomed near, the butterflies returned. Who would I room with? Would there be a girl in the mix this time around? Would it be a full room or would these two guys be replaced by two other individuals?

The day my quiet car mechanic checked out is the day my room was invaded. I walked in to find out that it was now me and five German guys. Yes, you read that right – 5 and all boys! They all seemed nice enough but I wasn’t overly thrilled about the situation. My room was now filled with boy stink and as you all know, that’s not the most pleasant thing in the world. The ease of conversation that I had with the past two occupants of the room had also disappeared. Now there was just a lot of awkward silences and when I did make eye contact with any of them it always happened to be with the one with the beautiful flowing blonde locks.  Sadly, he was also the one who did nothing but stare at me and start grinning like a fool. Three days have now past and all he’ll say to me is hi and bye between the staring and grinning. Maybe he does it because his English isn’t great or that I don’t know a single word in German but hopefully someday he’ll realize just how creepy the staring/grinning is.

The German invasion of my room has now fuelled my need to leave the hostel as quickly as possible. Flat hunting has now become my #1 priority and I was really hoping to have been moved out by this weekend. Sadly, I’ve answered more flatmate ads that I care to recall and have visited more flats than I would have thought was necessary but still…nothing. I’ve seen beautiful flats with not so desirable flatmates or found awesome people in the nastiest flats I’ve ever seen or had people looking to share a room or even a bed. Luckily, there’s a group of girls that have encountered the same issues and we’ve decided to take matters into our own hands. Tomorrow, we’re going to see a flat that we’d all be able to share with each other and if it’s decent then we can all finally say goodbye to the hostel.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

