Who knew that I’d go for a hike in heels!

I arrived in Auckland on Tuesday and had my first interview with a recruiter on Thursday morning.  I was well aware of this fact before I left Vancouver and thought I would have a day or two to check out Auckland so I wasn’t worried at all about finding my way around.  Turns out that I was the jet lagged girl running around town trying to get my luggage into storage, setting up a bank account as well as filing for my IRD number so whenever I was walking around it was aimlessly in search of food and I never took notice how hilly the city is until that fateful Thursday morning. 

Shoes Worn for the hike around hilly Aucks!

 

I woke up nice and early (5am to be exact) not in preparation for the interview but because my body refuses to let me sleep in beyond that point.  By 7am, I figured I might as well get out of bed and get ready…after all, makeup applied correctly can mask any kind of imperfection.  Getting ready was the easy part as I picked 1 of the 2 interview outfits I had shoved in my pack and put on my interview perfect heels.  The heels that I chose to bring were a comfortable height since I knew I would be walking around the city and figured it was best to do it in comfort.  I couldn’t have been more wrong. 

First things first.  I’m terrible with direction and accidentally turned down the wrong road and walked for a block before I realized my fatal error.  To correct the error of my ways, I had to walk uphill and then turned the corner only to realized that the terrain I was trekking was going to be a hilly one.  Google maps had told me that it would take 14 minutes to walk to the office from my hostel.  What google maps forgot to take into consideration was my footwear and that I can’t tell which way is North or South.  Not a good start to the morning to say the least. 

A snapshot of the first hill I encountered!

 

Eventually, I found the place and was relieved to be able to sit and give me feet a break.  I may have been grinning ear to ear like a fool during the interview just because I was glad to be off my feet.  I knew eventually our chat would end and start the hike once again and there was nothing my charming Canadian accent was going to be able to do to stop that from happening.  This thought alone could have brought me to tears if the session with the recruiter hadn’t gone so well.  Luckily for me, our chat went better than I could have imagined but sadly, before long I was sent off with a little homework and a long hike back.  

As I walked, I kept reminding myself that it’s not much further before I get back to the hostel and my feet can be comfortable in sneakers once again.  When that failed, I tried to concentrate on the fact that these hills in Auckland are one hell of a workout and will cost me a lot less than a gym membership or a pair of the those damn Reebok Easy-Tone shoes!  After experiencing walking around Auckland with heels I considered comfortable, all I can say is that I’m very glad that I left my 5″ heels at home.

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, nz: auckland | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Who knew that I’d go for a hike in heels!

  1. Jimena

    Damn girl! What a hill!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

