Just Me And My Snuggie

My new carry-on!!!

 

 So much for my carry-on.  It got confiscated at the gate when I went to board the plan from LA to Auckland as an agent gave it a quick look and said it looked to be over 7 kilo.  My precious backpack is now making its way to Auckland as checked baggage without an extra charge but trust me, that won’t help lighten the blow that it just got taken away from me.  The point of putting what I did in my backpack was so I could have a handful of stuff at my disposal encase my luggage got lost.  Looks like I’m out of luck this time.    

As a replacement carry-on, I was given a beautiful plaid shopping bag.  Super.  I quickly pulled out the most valuable/necessary things such as my laptop, all electronic stuff, book, and my snuggie.  The agent may have made a comment about my snuggie (some crap about blankets on the plane) but I thought it was best to ignore it instead of picking a fight at this moment.  It must have been my ultra pathetic expression as she seemed to take pity on me after a while and said that I could carry my “blanket” on the plane to make sure that the rest of my electronic items could fit into the bag and would mark my backpack as fragile so it was handled with care.  

This is definitely a good grief Charlie Brown kind of moment.  Now if all my bags get lost – I’ll be super screwed as it’s essentially just me and my snuggie against the world.  After all, the snuggie doesn’t leave that bad of an impression as I’m outfitted with black lululemon pants, pink/black harajuku lovers hoodie, a purse covered with cartoon characters, and pink Ed Hardy wellies.  If everything gets lost, this outfit will go a long way to give Auckland a stellar first impression of me.  Here’s to fingers crossed that all 3 pieces of checked in luggage will be on that carousel when I get off on the other end.

Categories: *PRE-DEPARTURE | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Just Me And My Snuggie

  1. thestuffithinkabout

    That really sucks! And it doesn’t even make sense that you could keep your backpack until LA…but then was deemed unworthy! At least you have your Snuggie 😉 Safe travels! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

