Just your average job hunting ninja (part 1)

What every good job hunting ninja needs is a decent CV.  But more important than that, what I need is a decent kiwi-style CV.  After wasting much of the day trying to figure out how a New Zealand one is different from a Canadian one, I was left scratching my head.  Depending on the site I was reading – I was supposed to add more details about the companies I worked at or add more details about the tasks of the job instead of the company or personalize it to sell myself and not where I’ve worked or what I actually did.  I can go on but I figure nobody else wants to enter the swirling black hole that has swallowed me whole today.

After all of that, I decided the best way for me to approach this is to update my current one, have one for each different type of job, and then personalize the appropriate CV for every job I apply for.  Writing about my past jobs and what I did was a breeze but the next stumbling block I encountered was writing a blurb about what the hell I’m doing.  I mean what’s the “most professional” way to say I’ve decided to run away to New Zealand for a year and hopefully I’ll get a decent job so I don’t feel like I’ve totally tanked my career in pursuit of something new.  I’ll also have to address the time period I’ll be in New Zealand and the details of my work visa all while saying please hire me on a temporary basis (up to 12 months) instead of that other guy.  I guess only time will tell how I come across on paper and how successful I’ll be in nailing down a professional position within a decent time frame.

All said and done, I’ve managed to finish off one version of my CV today but have yet to send it off as I figure its best to review it tomorrow with a fresh set of eyes.  Hopefully the rest won’t take as long as this one did as interesting positions seem to be popping up all over the place and I don’t want to miss out because I was slow.  Fingers crossed that I’ll be a kick-ass job hunting ninja and all this preparation will pay off.

Categories: *PRE-DEPARTURE | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Just your average job hunting ninja (part 1)

  1. thestuffithinkabout

    Soon you’ll be an employed NZ ninja!

    The keys to sounding professional:
    – Don’t mention “boat garage” in it. Save that for the interview.
    – Wear shoes to the interview. Take them off for the first day of work.
    – Bring the interviewer a present. Perhaps a kiwi? Maybe cash.
    – Two words: cleavage top. (Maybe attach a jpeg to your CV)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

