Thank you for picking me!

Leaving Toronto was easy but saying my goodbyes was hard.  The people who I’m talking about are the ones that happened to live next door or passed out on my couch on the first day we met or heard all about my life saga when we got lost in the ghettos of Buffalo.  They are the ones that picked me and only me.  In my opinion, they are the best that Toronto has to offer and will be why I will continue to fly back there despite my personal opinion of the city itself.  I could say something mushy about friendship or about how they stuck by my side and ensured that I was not defeated by a bad man or two but that’s not necessary.  All that I have left to say is “thank you for picking me”.  

Ms Queen Bee - Thanks for being the first to say that you picked me!

 

Toronto is now a chapter in my life that is over but the friendships that I made while there will never be.  Even with that in mind and knowing that they’re just a plane ride away, the scariest part of going to Auckland is whether or not I’ll be able to make friends of equal caliber.  I guess only time will tell but as my departure date gets closer – this is the one thing that worries me the most. 

Categories: *PRE-DEPARTURE | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Thank you for picking me!

  1. Caitlin -- a prospective Canadian travel nurse!

    Hey, just leaving an extremely late note.. I’m starting to read your blog from the beginning. Your adventure seems too interesting to start at the end and miss all the good bits.
    Your fear of being able to find friends of the same caliber that you leave at home is really close to my heart. I’ve been dreaming/wishing/tentatively planning living abroad once I graduate with my nursing degree, and it is nice to hear someone else has the same fears that I do! (misery.. or I suppose uncertainty, loves company as they say!)
    Seriously looking forward to reading your blog and seeing how you make out living across the world and making friends along the way!

    • Hi Caitlin! I hope you’re enjoying my blog and all I can say so far from my experiences is that I’ve met some really amazing people since I began my journey. Like everything in life – it can be hit and miss but the good people most definitely make up for of the less desirable types that I’ve met along the way. I don’t always blog about them and those experiences but I’ve had some interesting ups and downs but when I think back on what I’ve experienced so far, its always the people I’ve met that make me smile.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nocci Go Lightly

I said never. Never has arrived.

Chris on Tour

Travel on a Budget

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

"Love Me!" says Food

Live to Love, Love to Eat

Ramblings

A little of what's in my head, in blog form.

Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Moving back to Australia after ten years living overseas

Lovely Shoots

Lovely photographs of the world

The Open Suitcase

A Miscellany of Travel Tidbits, Tips and Tales

THE BOX

"Your Entertainment Source" - WWW.INSIDEBOXMAG.COM

WalkedThru

For You.

WordTraveler

Traveling, Teaching, and Thinking

thecantaloupetales

Morocco, art, & the open road

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Global From Home

Exploring the world within a 30 mile radius

Coast Guard Couple

Tiffany and Greg Around the World

Travel Monkey

The Adventures of Kongo

